Rose Tyler #4: Doomsday

At this point in my relatively short-lived cosplay hobby, I’ve realized of course how much I LOVE playing Rose. She’s still my favorite companion, and her looks are fun to put together for someone who doesn’t have a lot of talent with sewing or DIY-ing things. So After the first couple of looks, I started trying to figure out which to do next… The End of Time, The Stolen Earth/Journey’s End, Boom Town, The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit… there are SO many, I didn’t know where to go from there. So I started looking around at a bunch of different options, figuring that depending on what individual pieces I was able to locate most easily, I would go from there. Which meant that effectively I was collecting for about 5 different costumes at the same time. WOW! I hit the jackpot when I saw the Doomsday Firetrap jacket on eBay – a jacket I love aside from it’s costume potential – and that made my decision for me.

Part 1: The Episode

beach_farewell rose-212-02 2x13_doomsday_1170 doomsday

Part 2: Sources of Info & Inspiration

If you’re a Rose cosplayer and you’re not already connected to Rose Tyler Costuming and Collecting on Facebook, you’re missing out. See the Series 2 Breakdown here for good Rose tips and SA identifications, plus tips and DIYs elsewhere on the page.

There’s a pattern on Ravelry to make the gloves, but I’ve never knitted a thing in my life, so it’s not an option for me. If it appeals to you, here’s a nice link.

Part 3: Piecing it Together

  • black Firetrap jacket
  • coral-y pink shirt
  • Purple-y knit handwarmers
  • Black pants
  • Black shoes

I found the Firetrap leather jacket on eBay, being sold by another Rose cosplayer and splurged on it, spending $158.75 including shipping. It’s my first real SA item besides the shoes I bought for The Empty Child, and I feel like I got a pretty good deal, all things considered. Rose items are so rare, and I knew how hard it would be to find one that looked right that wasn’t SA. Plus it was the right size for me, so I impulse-bought it! I love it, and I’ve worn it many times since as part of my regular New Orleans winter wardrobe. It’s a lovely soft leather and I’m enjoying it!

I am NOT a knitter, and finding handwarmers or gloves at a retail location that are the right color and pattern is basically impossible, but I found Owl Feathers Creations on Etsy, a fellow Whovian trying to replicate the Rose Tyler handwarmers, and purchased a hand-made pair from her for $35. They are perfect! Since then, she’s improved the color, making them even more SA. I highly recommend these! They may not be listed on her Etsy page right now, but if you message her and ask, she may be taking requests for custom orders, since she has the pattern. Since she made mine, she’s been able to get more info about the SA hanswarmers and the color yarn she uses is apparently even MORE accurate! (though I am 100% happy with mine!!)

IMG_4848

For the shoes, I just opted to use an old pair of black clunky shoes I’ve had in my closet – they’re comfortable and from under the pants they look like boots, so no cost there. I also had on-hand a coral-y pink shirt that fit the bill, which I originally got from Ann Taylor LOFT but which has come out of regular rotation since it’s somewhat old and worn. But peeking out from under the jacket, it did just fine. No cost there, either.

So for some reason I didn’t have black pants. I’ve lost about 30 pounds relatively recently and haven’t re-upped everything in my wardrobe that doesn’t fit anymore. So when I saw a pair of SA black Topshop trousers on eBay, I went for it. They were close to my size, though a bit big, and had the right fit. Since they were QUITE worn (per the description) I will likely need to dye them soon to mask the little snags and fuzz, and I wouldn’t wear them to the office or anything, but they’ll do for costuming just fine. I ended up paying £24.00 (about $40) for them including shipping.

EDIT June 2015: Since this post, I’ve learned SO much more about Rose items. These trousers were actually NOT the right ones, but they WERE the SA trousers from New Earth/Army of Ghosts! In the first set of photos below (long hair) when I debuted this costume. It’s SO easy to confuse the two of them when you’re a newbie at this, since the Doomsday trousers are also black Topshop trousers, but they have pinstripes and the style is a bit different. Check out the Bad Wolf Closet post on Army of Ghosts/Doomsday, which gives photos of BOTH pairs of trousers (the solid black ones worn in AoG and New Earth and the pinstripe ones worn in Doomsday). 

Note: All costs include shipping. Total Cost for this Costume = $234 (approximate)

Part 4: The Final Look

I decided to wear this one for The Day of the Doctor – DW 50th Anniversary Special, when our Krewe Du Who went to the theatrical screening. Right now I’m growing my hair out long for my wedding, so it’s MUCH too long for the screen-accurate look, but otherwise, success! Unfortunately you can’t see the gloves very well in these pics, but they’re really comfy and luckily quite warm considering it was rainy and chilly that night!

photo 1 photo 3 photo 4photo 2-2

Part 5: Epilogue

Overall easy stuff, although this is my most expensive costume to date thanks to the jacket splurge. But the jacket is amazing so I feel like it was worth it for me. Can’t wait to do it when my hair is the right length and I can get some more professional photos done!

UPDATE June 2015: 

Since this post, I’ve replaced my first pair of not-quite-right trousers with the correct pair of SA pinstripe black Topshop trousers. I got CRAZY lucky and found a pair on eBay UK from a seller who was only shipping to the UK, but my good friend in London accepted the package for me and brought me the pants when she came to the States a few months later (since I wasn’t in a hurry). So I only spent $8.83 on those trousers, which would normally have cost me more like $50. I sold my first pair to another Rose cosplayer, but I took a BIG loss on them because of their condition. I just couldn’t justify asking $40 for them!

I’d love to have a pair of the SA Hobbs boots, but I have large calves, so boots in general are problematic for me to begin with, and I haven’t had luck finding affordable SA black boots in my size. Instead, I went looking for a similar style pair of ankle boots (they’re essentially a Chelsea-style boot), since you only ever see these Hobbs boots under pants or jeans when Rose wears them, unlike the other pair of Hobbs boots she wears in Boom Town. I found a really nice pair of Gianni Bini Chelsea ankle boots that look perfect, for $23.95.

I’ve also changed sizes in jacket since this original post. If you look closely in my photos you can see that my jacket actually doesn’t have the inner fabric collar that Rose’s jacket does. I completely did NOT realize this when I bought the jacket to begin with. Sad face. So I sold that one to another Rose (recovering my original costs for it) once I found myself a new one in my new size WITH the fabric collar. Round and round the cosplay cycle goes!

I haven’t gotten any recent photos with this one, but once I do, I will post some!

One thought on “Rose Tyler #4: Doomsday

  1. Pingback: Rose Tyler Cosplay Roundup | Bad Wolf Cosplay

Leave a Reply

